MUSIC REVIEW | White Lung – Paradise (2016)

In a nutshell, Bored & Dangerous says: “Every song on Paradise is unmistakeably the work of one band”.

Lung 1.jpg
I love punk rock.  But technically, I can probably only claim to really love 90s, Californian punk rock, because that represents a solid 99% of the punk I listen to.  So in an effort to drag my musical tastes into the modern day, I’m giving White Lung a red hot crack with their latest, Paradise.

What happens if you take the instruments, effects pedals and overblown production grandeur of a band like Evanescence, then use them to make some angry girl punk rock?  You get Dead Weight, one of the most exciting introductions to an album and a band that I have heard in a long, long time.  The same aesthetic, now with added spooky keyboards works just as well on Narcoleptic.

Things get a little poppier and radio ready on Below, before the pinch harmonics and a more metal tone take over for Kiss Me When I Bleed.   Even with these genre qualifiers, every song on Paradise is unmistakeably the work of one band.  Maybe it’s the air tight production, or the irresistible hooks, but I find myself feeling a little guilty about how much this record is making me like this band.  Almost like I should have a more refined musical pallet.  But sometimes, hooks are hooks, catchy is catchy and that’s more than enough.
Lung 2
As much as I enjoyed this intro to the band, that unique White Lung Sound means that even at a lean 28 minutes, Paradise almost runs out of steam before it gets to the end.  I love everything here, and late highlights Vegas and Paradise really do make an already good album great.  But the second half is filled with songs like Demented, Hungry and I Beg You that all kind of blend into each other with their impressive wall of polished metal sound.  I had my fill and wasn’t champing at the bit for more.

White Lung

Other Opinions Are Available.  What did these people have to say about Paradise?
NME
Pitchfork
The Mongoose

Leave a Reply

