MOVIE REVIEW | The Go-Getter (2007)

In a nutshell, Bored & Dangerous says: “I’ve seen enough sad sacks staring blankly into the distance in movies to last me a lifetime.  I didn’t need to see this one.”

 Go Getter 1
“You’re a jerk, jerk, jerk. But I like the sound of your voice.”

The Go-Getter was made by a director I have never heard of.  The Go-Getter stars no one famous, except for quick cameos from Nick Offerman and Judy Greer, with a minor supporting role from Zooey Deschanel.  And I knew about none of them being involved until I pressed play.  The Go‑Getter is an eight year old movie of which I have absolutely no recollection of it coming out or anyone ever giving a shit about it.  So how did a copy of The Go-Getter end up on my DVD shelf?  I hoped watching it might spark a memory and provide an answer to that question.  It did not.

Stealing a car from a car wash, 19 year old Mercer (Lou Taylor Pucci) sets off to find his much older, half brother, Arlen (Jsu Garcia) to tell him about the recent death of their mother.  Arlen’s last known address leads to a commune type situation where Mercer meets Dutch (Offerman) and Toast (Greer).  A punch to the mouth lets Mercer know that his brother didn’t leave on the best of terms.  Learning that Arlen moved to Reno next, Mercer hits the road, and decides to also call in on an old school crush now living in Nevada, Joely (Jena Malone).

Mercer goes on several more adventures, meeting several more groups that Arlen has left dissatisfied in his wake.  All the while, he has regular conversations with Kate (Deschanel), the girl whose car he stole.  Calling her own phone which was left in the car, Kate finds Mercer too interesting to send the cops after.  Instead, she becomes a confidant and encourages him on his journey, all via phone conversations.
Go Getter 2
Watching The Go-Getter, I never had an a-ha moment, where an actor’s appearance or story beat reminded me why I had bought it in the first place.  It’s DVD cover and story synopsis look and sound exactly like the kind of precious indie quirk I hate.  Which is exactly what the movie delivered.  I’ve seen enough sad sacks staring blankly into the distance in movies to last me a lifetime.  I didn’t need to see this one.

The Go-Getter
Directed By – Martin Hynes
Written By – Martin Hynes

Other Opinions Are Available.  What did these people have to say about The Go-Getter?
The New York Times
First Showing
Sonny With an O

2 thoughts on “MOVIE REVIEW | The Go-Getter (2007)

Leave a Reply

