R.I.P | Merle Haggard (1937 – 2016)

MHaggard_9007a

I haven’t listened to nearly enough Merle Haggard to be anywhere near an authority on his music.  But have heard enough to know that I need to hear more.  I’ve also heard enough about Haggard and his music to be pretty bummed when I woke up this morning to the news of his death.

Along with people like Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash and Waylon Jennings, Merle Haggard helped redefine country music and make it a little more dangerous and exciting.


So, here are a few links to do him a lot more justice than I ever could.

The A.V Club Mourns a “Country Music Legend”

Merle Haggard tells Esquire “What I’ve Learned”

Chris Shiflett (Foo Fighters) talks to Merle Haggard on his podcast, Walking the Floor

And, my own review of what has now become Merle Haggard’s final studio record, last year’s awesome duet with Willie, Nelson, Django and Jimmie.

Leave a Reply

