MUSIC REVIEW | Girlpool – Before the World Was Big (2015)

Girlpool 1
10 songs in 24 minutes.  I can’t think of many things more promising than seeing that when I decide to listen to a new band or album.  Maybe I have an attention span problem, but who wouldn’t prefer finishing a short album and wanting more, as opposed to getting to the end of a long one and feeling exhausted?  10 songs in 24 minutes, more than enough reason for me to listen to Girlpool and Before the World Was Big.


A two piece of simple instrumentation and slightly off vocal harmonies, Ideal World and Dear Nora both provide a little haunting weirdness.  Never quite right or perfectly in tune, it’s off putting in a way that makes me strangely want to hear more.

There’s a making-it-up-as-they-go-along approach Before the World Was Big.  But I don’t mean that in a way that it seems lazy or tossed off.  I mean it more in the way that Girlpool are capturing a moment, a lightning in a bottle situation where waiting even a second longer would have missing out on some sort of magic.

As Before the World Was Big winds down with Pretty, Emily and I Like That You See It, I find myself neither at the end of a short album and wanting more, nor at the end of a long one and feeling exhausted.  I’m confused, perplexed and a little out of sorts…  In a good way…  I think.

Girlpool 2
I have no idea how I feel about Girlpool or Before the World Was Big.  But I do know that it’s going to fill my thoughts as I mull it over for the next few days.  And that has to be a good thing…  I think.

Girlpool

Other Opinions Are Available.  What did these people have to say about Before the World Was Big?
Pitchfork
Spin
The Funnel

Leave a Reply

